Thump Queen

The Luling Watermelon Thump Association would like to thank LULING CHEVROLET for their generous vehicle donations for use in the various parades we attend throughout the year. We very much appreciate your ongoing support!

Current THump Queen: Elizabeth Townsend

Queen Elizabeth and her court have been traveling across the State promoting Luling and the upcoming 65th Anniversary of the Luling Watermelon Thump Festival.

2017 Thump Contestants

Elizabeth Townsend

I am a leader in the class room and in the sports that I play. I represent my hometown and community by being someone others can look up to. My responsibility and respect to others is a quality one should have when representing Luling, Texas as Watermelon Thump Queen. I currently represent Luling in my volunteer work and my volleyball club travels throughout the state of Texas.

Faith Crowell

I have an outgoing personality, a caring heart and a unique way of thinking. Plus I’m funny!

Michelle Espino

I believe I have leadership qualities because I tend to have a positive attitude and an open mind to those around me.

Abigail Nieto

The leadership qualities that I possess to be Thump Queen include the fact that I am very independent, outgoing person. I am never afraid to take charge and speak my mind, but at the same time, I’m compassionate and understanding of others.

Cayla Brandon

My strongest qualities that I possess that are inherent to a position of leadership are positivity, loyalty, and being passionate in all endeavors.

Alexandria Campos

Dedication is an important quality to have as a Thump Queen since it will require a considerable measure of time and effort throughout the following year to the extent of my general portrayal of my town.

Sabrina Rodriguez

To be a leader you must be confident, and outgoing in everything you do. Inspiring towards others. Have honesty in everything you say, and you have good communication skills. If I am lucky enough to win I would be honred to represent Luling as the 2017 Watermelon Thump Queen.

Thump Queens 1954-2014

1954 – Bettie Sue Blackwell Towns
1955 – Janice O’Banion Bayern
1956 – Margaret Leazar Thompson
1957 – Diane Rabon
1958 – Dorothy Watkins White
1959 – Merilynn McGee Tullous
1960 – Phillis Webb Linscomb, Kakai Blackwell Walker
1961 – Kay Welch Nelson
1962 – Caronlyn Frank Reid, Ann Colewell Lee
1963 – Mary Elizabeth Carter Olden
1964 – Carmen Bassett Gidley, Becky Seay Brownlow
1965 – Diane Thorp Miller
1966 – Beth Vick
1967 – Mollie Shelton Meyer
1968 – Ollie Jo Montgomery Bozeman
1969 – Nora Anne Webb
1970 – Debbie Miller Hees
1971 – Pam Miller Kidd, Sherry Janca Grabill
1972 – Jackie Dorn Campbell
1973 – Sue McBride
1974 – Cathy Folsom Allen
1975 – Karen Glenewinkel Via
1976 – Bonnie McCrary Phillips
1977 – Sharon Gibson
1978 – Denise Gonzales Levesque
1979 – Vicki Mohn Morlock, Cassandra Marcee Bullard
1980 – Darla Franks
1981 – Susie Rollert Seay
1982 – Sherry Herrmann Bettersworth
1983 – Roxanne Ivery Schmidt
1984 – Jennifer Otto Zumwalt
1985 – Kai Hendricks Schnautz
1986 – Sherry Saur Geiger
1987 – Brandi Sue Blackwell Hayden
1988 – Tandra Lewis Damon
1989 – Cathy Farmer Dunham
1990 – Tamara Engleke Pigott
1991 – Kelly Ward Loredo
1992 – Monica Kidd Knox
1993 – Meghan Allen
1994 – Veronica Suarez Saldana
1995 – Ashley Bassett Hartzog
1996 – Aurora Gillen-Suarez
1997 – Amanda Kidd Hester
1998 – Shannon Zamora
1999 – Ginny Robbins Janak
2000 – Kelsey Bassett
2001 – Mayra Gillen Johnson
2002 – Raven Robbins Zumwalt
2003 – Cathi Johnson
2004 – Rebekah McClure
2005 – Megan Cox Pettis
2006 – Ashley McFadin
2007 – Vanessa Guerrero
2008 – Michelle Levesque
2009 – RaVana Damon
2010 – Paige Heller Johnson
2011 – Yadira Ochoa
2012 – Victoria Bosquez
2013 – Carina Reyes
2014 – Kaitlin Cappleman
2015 – Kyleigh Peters
2016 – Lexi Carter
2017 – Elizabeth Townsend